The English Alphabet

English alphabet

Let’s learn the English alphabet. The alphabet has 26 letters.

5 of the letters are a special type of letter called a vowel. The vowels are a, e, i, o and u.

There are two forms of the letters. The letters you see above are called ‘lower case’. But we can also write them as ‘capital’ letters. We use capital letters for the first letter in a sentence. We also use them for proper nouns, for example, peoples names and countries.

Watch the video, and repeat the letters:

Practice the alphabet:

There are two types of letters, consonants and vowels. The vowels are A, E, I, O, and U.

We pronounce the vowels by expelling air. Notice how you form your throat and mouth to form the sounds. Vowels have different sounds, and it’s worth paying attention to pronunciation.

Play alphabet games: